This is the "Home" page of the "Library Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Home  

Last Updated: Jun 23, 2015 URL: http://ciachef.libguides.com/index Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hours of Operation

The Library will be closed Friday, July 3rd, and Saturday, July 4th, in observance of Independence Day and will reopen at noon on Sunday, July 5th.

Library

Monday: 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday: 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday: 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday: 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday: 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Saturday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sunday: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm 


Archives & Special Collections

Monday - Friday: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm. Appointments encouraged.

 

From Schnitzel to Salsa

Check out our menu blog, From Schnitzel to Salsa, which highlights menus from our collection.

 

Search Library Catalog

Search Library Catalog:

 

Current Exhibit

What Will You Have? Beverages in the 20th Century

This exhibit presents a selection of beverage paraphernalia from the collection of CIA Professor Doug Miller and cocktail books and menus from the CIA Archives and Special Collections.

On display in the Tober Exhibit Room in the Conrad N. Hilton Library, April - July 2015

 

Pictured: Hotel Astor Drink List. New York, N.Y., 1940s.

View more online drink and wine lists from the CIA Menu Collection.

 

Featured New Book

Cover Art
The Organic Medicinal Herb Farmer - Jeff Carpenter; Melanie Carpenter
ISBN: 9781603585736
Publication Date: 2015-05-06
A new approach to growing local medicine, including information on geo-authenticity, wildcrafting, and developing a good business plan Both a business guide and a farming manual, The Organic Medicinal Herb Farmer will teach readers how to successfully grow and market organic medicinal Western herbs. Whether you're trying to farm medicinal plants, culinary herbs, or at-risk native herbs exclusively or simply add herbal crops to what you're already growing, successful small-scale herb farmers Jeff and Melanie Carpenter will guide you through the entire process--from cultivation to creating value-added products. Using their Zack Woods Herb Farm in Vermont as a backdrop, the Carpenters cover all the basic practical information farmers need to know to get an organic herb farm up and running, including: * Size and scale considerations; * Layout and design of the farm and facilities; * Growing and cultivation information, including types of tools; * Field and bed prep; * Plant propagation; * Weed control, and pests and diseases; * Harvesting, as well as wild harvesting and the concept of geo-authentic botanicals; * Postharvest processing; and, * Value-added products and marketing. The authors also provide fifty detailed plant profiles, going deeper into the herbs every farmer should consider growing. In an easy-to-understand, practical, and comprehensive manner, readers will learn how to focus on quality over quantity, and keep costs down by innovating with existing equipment, rather than expensive technology.Market farmers who have never before considered growing medicinal herbs will learn why it's more important to produce these herbs domestically. The Organic Medicinal Herb Farmer makes a convincing case that producing organic medicinal herbs can be a viable, profitable, farming enterprise. The Carpenters also make the case for incorporating medicinal herbs into existing operations, as it can help increase revenue in the form of value-added products, not to mention improve the ecological health of farmland by encouraging biodiversity as a path toward greater soil health.

 

Library Contact Info

The Culinary Institute of America
Conrad N. Hilton Library
1946 Campus Drive
Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430

Telephone: 845-451-1747

Email: library@culinary.edu

 

Library Staff

Jon Grennan
Director of Library & Information Services
j_grenna@culinary.edu
845-451-1323

Rhonda L. Altonen
Technical Services Librarian
r_altone@culinary.edu
845-451-1373

Raven Fonfa
Reference & Information Literacy Librarian
r_fonfa@culinary.edu
845-451-1757

Nicole Semenchuk
Archives Specialist
n_semenc@culinary.edu
845-451-1270

Maryann Monachelli
Administrative Assistant
m_monach@culinary.edu
845-451-1759

Hadley Atwood
Circulation Desk Assistant (p/t)
h_atwood@culinary.edu
845-451-1747

Kara Rausch
Circulation Desk Assistant (p/t)
k_rausch@culinary.edu
845-451-1747

 

Social Media

Follow updates from the Archives and Special Collections

Facebook

Twitter

Tumblr

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip