Handwritten RecipesRecipe Pamphlets
This is the "About the Archives" page of the "Archives and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives and Special Collections  

This is a guide to the Archives and Special Collections at The Culinary Institute of America.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://ciachef.libguides.com/ciaarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact

The CIA Archives & Special Collections are housed in the Conrad N. Hilton Library.  Anyone interested in learning more about the archives or locating a specific item should contact Nicole Semenchuk.

Email: n_semenc@culinary.edu

Phone: (845) 451-1270

 

About the CIA Archives

The Archives collects, preserves and provides access to selected records, papers, historical documents, and publications that document and/or reflect the history and mission of The Culinary Institute of America.

 

Use the "CIA Archives" tab above to view lists of selected published and unpublished materials related to the college's history that are contained in the Archives.

 

Use the "Special Collections" tab above to view information about other archival collections within the Archives.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why should I visit the Archives?  You may not need any of these materials for a class right now, but I guarantee you that you will be excited by what we have, and you may even be inspired by what you find.  I have personally witnessed ideas exploding from our students brains when looking at our collection of 30,000 menus.  You will connect with the material, too.  We provide a comfortable, informal atmosphere in the hopes of providing you with some inspiration.

Where are you located?  The Archives and Special Collections are  located on the main floor of the Hilton Library, beyond the computers.

When can I drop in?  It is always best to make an appointment if you are looking for something specific, but you may also drop anytime Monday-Friday, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm. If you see me in the room, feel free to come in.  If I stepped out or am at a meeting and the door is locked, try again later or send me an email and we can arrange a time to meet.  I look forward to meeting you and showing you around!

Why are the doors locked ? The doors are locked because there are rare, one-of-a-kind materials in the archives.  My job is to make these items accessible, but it is also to make sure that they are safe and secure.  So, everytime I am not in the room, I need to lock it.

You look like you are working and I don't want to bother you.  Please don't even hesistate.  Go ahead and wave or knock!  I am always happy to discuss the archives and answer any of your questions.

What is in the Archives?  So many interesting things. Use the tabs above to explore. Or, come by to learn more!

Can I remove items from the Archives?  No.  All items from the archives must be used in the archives reading room.  I will pull materials before your visit, and provide you with direction on how to handle the materials.  It is a comfortable environment and I will be there to answer any questions you might have.

See you soon!

 

Access to the CIA Archives

The CIA Archives and Special Collections are open by appointment to faculty, staff and students, as well as to outside visitors and researchers.

Because of the rare nature of the materials in the archives, all materials must be used in the dedicated reading room.  Archives staff are the only ones permitted to retrieve items from the storage areas.  During your visit, you will be instructed by staff on the proper ways to handle the materials.

 

History

Read a brief history of the CIA on our website at http://ciachef.edu/our-story/.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip